Be your own Hero


In order for humans to survive, we have 5 key needs which were prioritized in a  hierarchy triangle developed by Abraham Maslow. 

An estimated 26% of Americans ages 18 and older -- about 1 in 4 adults -- suffers from a diagnosable mental disorder in a given year. Circumstances, upbringing, and everyday life experiences are a key factor to these statistics. For those that lack/lacked respect, recognition, self-esteem, family, connection, security or safe place, tend to live in a constant state of 'Fight or Flight'.  As we live day to day, our negative emotional experiences and feelings move from our conscious mind to our subconscious mind. Carrying traumatic feelings into our long-term memory. Although time has passed, in a long period of time we create trauma responses that shape who we are, how we react, and how we perceive our life. In our subconscious, we are creating our conscious personality that make us who we are. Our subconscious is actually what drives us to be who we are and how we respond to others. These are called our Jungian Archetypes.

What is a Jungian archetype?

Jungian archetype is a pattern that’s universally recognized by people of different eras as a consequence of the collective unconscious. Jungian archetypes were proposed by Carl Jung as a refutation to John Locke’s Tabula Rasa theory that people are born in a blank mental state. Jungian character archetypes are viewed under the umbrella of Jung’s four major characteristics of the collective unconscious: The Persona, The Shadow, The Anima/Animus, and The Self.

The 4 Main Archetypes:

The Jungian mask – the Persona

The Jungian mask, aka the Persona, is the outward appearance a person displays. The Persona is regarded as the mask because it hides the true character of an individual. 

This Persona is regarded as part of the collective unconscious rather than the personal unconscious because it is inherited by socialization, gender roles, caste roles, etc. In simpler words, the Persona is who you appear to be, not who you are.

The Jungian darkside – the Shadow

In psychological terms, The Shadow is an unconscious aspect of an individual. Jung argued that the shadow “personifies everything that the subject [patient or individual] refuses to acknowledge about himself."

The Shadow is frequently encountered in dreams – and often frightens, disturbs, and shames the dreamer. The Shadow is regarded as a part of the collective unconscious because it’s repressed by social circumstances – such as rules, laws, ethics, etc.

The Jungian gender – Anima/Animus

The Anima and Animus represent the feminine side of a man and the masculine side of a woman respectively. Jung argued that society represses the natural femininity and masculinity of men and women, which causes them to fail in the process of individuation.

But despite the fact that the Anima/Animus sound similar and are rooted in the same basic psychosocial principles, Jung believed they were much different from one another. Jung said that the Anima was a way for men to become more in touch with their emotionality, and thus, their spirituality.

The Jungian unification – the Self

The Self is the last stage in the Jungian process of individuation. Jung said the Self is “is the total, timeless man...who stands for the mutual integration of conscious and unconscious,” which essentially means it’s the self-realized wholeness of a human spirit. The Self can only be found after an individual encounters their Shadow and Anima or Animus. 

Archetypical Figures

Jung acknowledged that the four main archetypes can intermingle and give rise to 12 archetypical figures (also known as archetypical images). These include:

  • Ruler
  • Creator/artist
  • Sage
  • Innocent
  • Explorer
  • Destroyer/Outlaw
  • Hero
  • Wizard
  • Jester
  • Orphan/Every person
  • Lover
  • Caregiver

At any given moment, depending on the current situation you are in, specific Archetype figures take action to "diffuse the threat". To make us feel safe, respected, recognized, loved, and valued. These figures are a subconscious reflection to our personalities. A Jester will automatically respond in public situations to make others laugh and have fun in order for them to feel "safe" "wanted" and "desired" - Thus fulfilling our need for Esteem. A caregiver will always put other peoples needs first before their own self. Pushing their own boundaries to fulfill the need for Belonging. 

The human desire for community and acceptance will hinder our ability to self reflect on our own needs. Self deprivation ultimately slowly kills individuals mentally causing our logic and subconscious to alter in ways where we cannot live our best lives. 

We only have one life to live. So why not make it our best one. We don't mean do whatever you want. Obviously taking another persons life or terrorizing our peers around us is not an ethical justification to full fill ones selves needs. But we mean take care of yourself first before you can care for others. 

Projekt Hero is not a mental health brand about helping others. Projekt Hero is A brand about loving oneself before you can love others. 

Because you come first in your story. You matter the most in your life. You didn't ask to be born in this world. Your childhood circumstances was not your choice to make. The cards you're dealt was never your pick. But you have every choice to change your future; to make it your best story...

So what story are you living?